Plainfield Peculiarities 1

A little conversation taking place in a little library with a big man wearing big dreads:
Man: “What’s funny?”
Grace: “Was I laughing [turning around from her perusing of vintage books]?”
Man: “Well, you look like you ought to be.”
Grace: “I think I’ll take that to be a good thing.”
Man: “… Are you from around here?”
Grace: “Just moved here.”
Man: “Why?”
Grace: “I got married!”
Man: “Good enough.”
Grace: “Are you from around here?”
Man: “No. I’m a refugee from Wisconsin. The d_mn Republicans took over my government. Thought I’d go see how a real state functions! Drink to that [swigs at unidentifiable drink], sweetie!” ~ Plainfield Quote of the Day

One thought on “Plainfield Peculiarities 1

  1. Pingback: A Letter to Readers | Pie in the Sky

Leave a Reply

